Earthquake Readiness Preparation

As many of you know, there was a small earthquake in VA yesterday.  At first I thought the whole world was shaking in honor of my birthday, but it turns out that it wasn’t for me and it wasn’t the whole world – just Virginia.  The earthquake wasn’t even big enough to cause damage here in Roanoke, but we definitely felt it.

That’s the first earthquake Riva or I have experienced, and we had no idea what was going on.  My first thought was, “O God, please protect my wife.”  And after I found out that the effects were very mild, my thoughts turned to my Japanese brothers and sisters who experienced such massive devastation from an earthquake just a few months ago, not to mention the powerful tsunami that resulted.  Then I began to wonder what their first thoughts might have been – a people who know nothing of Jesus, of the God who controls the earthquakes, or of the Spirit that brings peace even in the midst of them.  What would it have been like to experience such a thing without the assurance that there is a God who loves me and holds me in his hands?  I praise the Lord that I can’t imagine what that would be like because I was born into a family of Christians.  But today I pray for millions of Shinto people who experienced the loneliness and hopelessness of living in a broken world without a relationship with their Creator and Redeemer.  Please pray with us for the Japanese – for continued economic recovery and for Spiritual transformation.  Pray with confidence because God has promised that one day the earth will shake at the sound of his voice and countless Japanese will tremble, not with fear, but with great rejoicing.

One thought on “Earthquake Readiness Preparation

  1. what a great picture! Praying for you guys! Also pray for our country. What if yesterday was a warning signal for those of us in the US who think the devastation around the world could never happen here. It seems we hear of an earthquake at least once or twice a month now. Not sure if this is due to our global media, or that they really are happening more often! Thankfully, we know the One who is in control of it all!

Leave a Reply

