How little kids dancing can make us excited about long term ministry

 
So after dinner one night in Malaysia, I look up on stage and watch ten young missionary kids dance around on stage to a Ke$ha song. Rebecca Larsen leaned over to me and said “That’s our youth group in two area retreats from now!” How exciting! In 8 years when this group of missionaries gathers together again for a week long retreat for rest and refreshment we will be sitting in a big room with these kids – only they will be 12 to 18 years old and probably mortified by the fact that I have this picture of them dancing shamelessly on stage. These will be the kids playing Cat in the Hat, doing silly skits in the talent show, and sharing their hearts in our small groups.

It is such an honor to be trusted by parents to minister to their precious children. We were able to spend a week with 57 of the most incredible missionary kids in Malaysia last week. As I said goodbye to my amazing small group at the end of the week I realized that the next time we’re at an Area Retreat together they’ll be seniors in high school! I can’t wait to see them grow, hear how the Lord works in their hearts, and see where they are in just four shorts years. And then four years after that I can’t wait to see our new youth group!

 

 

2 thoughts on “How little kids dancing can make us excited about long term ministry

  1. I loved reading this blog, Riva, and am excited for you guys! I also love that they were dancing to Ke$ha- that is pretty awesome. Rock on, friend! : )

Leave a Reply

