A Missionary Soundtrack

While we were raising support, I was introduced to a musician by the name of Sara Groves, and I immediately fell in love.  Normally, I probably wouldn’t have given it a second listen, but it was just what I needed at the time.  So here I am still religiously listening to her songs 2 years later. The album that first got my attention was The Other Side of Something and I wanted to share a few of the songs with you guys because they’ve become the unofficial soundtrack of our missionary lives. I don’t want to say too much when you can just listen for yourself, so if you have a few minutes, we’d love for you to hear what God’s been teaching us.

Far and away, the most important song to me in the last few years is this song called “One Thing I Know.” You can check out the video below:

I keep coming back to it because it’s about the only thing I knew for sure when things got crazy, and the only thing we needed to know to have peace in the midst of chaos.

The second song is called “Esther” (I don’t know Kimberly. This is the only video I could find).

This song ministers to me on so many levels, but primarily, it helped me through support raising by reminding me what it’s all about. We went and saw, had our hearts captured by the next generation, came back, and compelled others to help. Thanks for the ways you guys are sacrificing to make this possible!

Lastly, I recently discovered Sara’s Invisible Empires Album.  The song called “Eyes On The Prize” has been keeping me going though language school:

The last few lines of the song are our anthem… they’re the reason we do what we do, and presumably the reason you’ve joined us. May many men, women, children, and families be set free here in Japan because of your partnership with us. Let’s keep dreaming of and praying toward the final Jubilee (Leviticus 25)!

2 thoughts on “A Missionary Soundtrack

  1. I love Sara Groves too! So much so that I rewrote some of the words to one of her songs asking her to come to Covenant 🙂 Her lyrics are way better!! Just wanted you to know I share the love. A;so, have you heard of Brooke Fraser? She has a similar sound to Sara Groves and I really love her C.S. Lewis song.

    On Tue, Oct 8, 2013 at 10:39 AM, Moshi, Moshi

  2. I really enjoy her music as well. She actually was a teacher at my high school (Rosemount High School in Minnesota) before she pursued being a Christian Music artist!

Leave a Reply

