2 year Japanniversary!

airport

It feels like just yesterday we were boarding a plane with a few boxes, a dog, and all kinds of emotions ranging from fear and sadness to excitement and promise. But today marks two years of surviving and even thriving in this foreign country which has quickly become “home.”

As I (Riva) awoke on our very first morning in Japan 2 years ago, I thought of the insurmountable hurdles of language study and relationship building that loomed ahead before we would ever see any fruit. But God spoke to me through this May 14th reading in the devotional Jesus Calling (actually written by a fellow MTW missionary who served in Japan!):

“I am a mighty God. Nothing is too difficult for Me. I have chosen to use weak ones like you to accomplish My purposes. Your weakness is designed to open you up to My Power. Therefore, do not fear your limitations or measure the day’s demands against your strength. What I require of you is to stay connected to Me, living in trusting dependence on My limitless resources.When you face unexpected demands, there is no need to panic. Remember that I am with you. Talk with Me, and listen while I talk you through each challenging situation.”

image

Fast forward two years and here we are – not just surviving, but thriving in spite of our deep and pervasive weakness – all because our God is strong and faithful!

Thanks for going on this journey with us. Thanks for financially supporting us, for praying for us, for loving our Japanese friends with us, and for reminding us that we are not alone. In our weakness, you have pointed us to the strength of our God. So, it’s God’s strength that we want to celebrate 2 years in!

2 thoughts on “2 year Japanniversary!

  1. SHIN-JI-RA-REI-NA-I-NA!!! While working for Fuji, the word “Unbelievable” became a part of my vocabulary as a fun exclamation. I asked a couple of my Japanese associates how to say it in Japanese. Their response was, “ah Mike-san, that is difficult translation, but maybe Shinjirareinaina! It means ‘I can not believe’! ” I share that to say that it seems unbelievable that you’ve been there 2 years already, and the size of your family has doubled! But what is very believable is that God is using you in mighty ways, not only in reaching his beloved in Japan, but also in inspiring your friends back home who read your words and see your pictures and exclaim “ShinJiRaReiNaINa” in the middle of an office in South Carolina!!! Love you guys!
    Soon, MikeV

Leave a Reply

