Jesus loves the little children

I (Brooks) was blessed to be a part of the International Christian Academy of Nagoya’s Spiritual Emphasis week last week, where we focused on the gracious gift of prayer. Here’s a little peek into what God was up to based on an email I received from the 3rd grade teacher:

IMG_9979

“Good morning Brooks!

I just wanted to let you know about a conversation that happened yesterday in my class during Bible time. We were reading Psalm 8 and discussing the meaning verse by verse. When we were discussing verse 3, ‘When I look at your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place…’ We talked about that God purposefully put the stars where they are. My kids were pretty shocked by this! One kid said, “I just always pictured him sprinkling them.” Then we talked about how these things were the works for his fingers, He didn’t need to use His big strong arms. One kid put his head down and just said, ‘WHAT.’ There were literal jaw drops and a chorus of ‘Ehhhs.’ My kids were utterly amazed.
Then we read verse 4. ‘what is man that you are mindful of him, and the son of man that you care for him?’ Again, literal jaw drops and looks of pure amazement. I asked “God loves us so much He…?’ ‘DIED ON THE CROSS FOR US!!’ We then spent some time talking about how amazing it is that God who moves stars with His fingers loves us and was willing to die for us.
I spend the year teaching about Jesus’ life and the early church. My kids constantly hear about Jesus’ love and sacrifice on our behalf. But yesterday they connected just how huge God is and how great His love for us.
I haven’t heard about everything happening in other grades, but third grade was left amazed yesterday. Thanks for giving up your time to serve my kids. I wish you could have seen their faces.”
Just wanted you to know that God is at work at ICAN. Thanks for being a part of it!
One thought on “Jesus loves the little children

  1. Brooks, I am so proud of you. I wish I could have heard you speak. I will never be able to read Ps. 8 without thinking about those kid’s reactions to God’s greatness. You are doing a good thing , Brooksie Baby.

Leave a Reply

